Women's Center director honored by state

Tammy Smith, RN, division director, Women's Center, received a certificate from the 8950TammySmith310x153 Alabama Office of Women's Health (OWH) in recognition of her five years of service on its steering committee.

Created by an act of the state legislature, the OWH is an advocate for women's health issues within the state. The Alabama Hospital Association appoints three members to serve on the OWH steering committee; Smith was nominated in 2009 by SAMC CEO Ron Owen for a two year term. Smith was asked to continue her service at the expiration of her first term.

Volunteers recognized

The top 10 volunteer hours of service for 2014 were: Seated from left: Marie Davis, 1232VolunteersMostHours310x153 540 hours; Marty Bradford, 488 hours & 30 years of service; Mildred Crowe, 419 hours; Lucile Rivers, 447 hours; Sandy Murkerson, 822 hours. Back row; Arlene Collins, 939 hours; Margie Lee, 585 hours; Patricia Wilson, 701 hours; Dave Plunkett, 805 hours; Jimmy Riley, 469 hours.

SAMC volunteers were thanked for their contribution to SAMC at a recent appreciation luncheon. Last year, volunteers provided more than 35,000 hours of service to SAMC, equivalent to almost 17 full time employees The Independent Sector's dollar value on volunteer hours indicates that SAMC Volunteers have given more than $700,000 in service to SAMC. Thanks to our entire volunteer staff for your valuable service!

Three SAMC volunteers were awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards this year. 1234VolunteersLifetimeAchievers310x153 Lifetime Achievement Award winners are recognized after 3 consecutive years with top hours. They are: Stacy Parmer (seated, left), 849 hours; Burnestine Oliver, 2,123 hours; Josh McNeal (standing), 1702 hours.

Maddox speaks to Lunch With the Doctor audience

Jeremiah Maddox, MD, speaks at a recent Senior Discovery Lunch With the Doctor event 0968JeremiahMaddox310x153 at The Depot off Main. Maddox' topic was arthritis and joint replacement. As an orthopedic surgeon, Dr. Maddox works with a variety of conditions involving the musculoskeletal system. He uses both surgical and nonsurgical methods to treat traumatic injuries, sports injuries, spinal problems and many other disorders of the musculoskeletal system. More than 50 people attended the luncheon.